Roads Less Traveled or How We Drove Through US Military Base

The beauty (and at times the challenge) of road trips is that you have to go with the flow and at times end up taking totally unplanned routes.  Our road trip from LA to San Francisco and back was full of such unexpected turns.  To start off, we had to change the itinerary last minute because of the snow in Yosemite (we had a rental car that didn’t allow tire chains).  Then, we had to make bunch of detours because of mudslides.   Of those, two were very memorable.  One, when we had to drive up and down the winding mountain to then turn around and go back to the starting point because of the road closure.   That was especially “fun” for me because I’m generally scared of narrow winding roads high up in the mountains (although every other mountain after that I’ve handled much easier 😉 ). Second, when we had to pass through the US Military Base.  Yes, that’s right.

Following the detour route, we were greeted by the sign asking to stay in the car and not to take any pictures and then shortly by some army folks warmly asking us not to wonder off the main road.    You have to trust me when I say that the road was beautiful and scenic.  But since we obeyed the orders I don’t have any picture to prove that 🤣  Ok, in all honesty, we were tempted to leave the car for a quick snap once, but then saw a sign that there might be some mines and that quickly killed that desire.

So what you see here is right after the exit point, once picture taking was allowed again. 20180324_100720

What unusual places have the road taken you?

2 comments

  1. It happened to me to drive unintentionally on a military road, it was in Israel, as soon as I realized I drove back with the thought that I was already in the sniper’s sights 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment